Council 2022-2026

Council 2022-2026

The Council is a representative structure. The membership is determined by the Minister for Education. The 26 member council comprises nominees of the partners in education, industry and trade union interests, parents’ organisations and one nominee each of the Minister for Education and the Minister for Children, Equality, Disability, Integration and Youth. The members of the Council, who were appointed by the Minister to 28 February, 2026, are listed here.

Click here to access Press Release from DE on appointment of NCCA Council 2022-2026

Click here to access Press release from DE regarding the addition of the Irish Second Level Students’ Union to the National Council for Curriculum and Assessment

Chairperson- Seán Ó Foghlú

Seán Ó Foghlú is a Senior Fellow in Public Policy in the Social Sciences Institute in Maynooth University. He is supporting research, teaching and civic engagement, relating to public policy development and implementation and is working across the university in advancing the aims of the university in this regard.

He was Secretary General of the Department of Education for 10 years until February 2022. He has 30 years of experience in Irish civil and public service, including four at Assistant Secretary level in the Department of Education and seven years as chief executive of the National Qualifications Authority of Ireland